A heart for the world

How do I even began to put into words what it is like being back in the States after 2 years abroad? I have been seeking to do this for days. To be perfectly honest it is just hard. How does one serve in a foreign land and not come back changed. I have always heard that reverse culture shock can be harder than culture shock and am finding this to be true. When we first went to Korea, I indeed experienced culture shock, the sights, smells, food, language were all overwhelming. Yet, since returning the same has been true. How does one fit back into a culture that seems so different especially when God has changed me and given me a different perspective than before. To be honest, I have felt quite lost and alone this past week. It has been wonderful to be with family but there is a void in my heart of those we left behind.

I have always had a heart for missions, yet that has grown dramatically in the past few years as we have had the privilege to teach and learn from people all over the world. God has given me a heart for internationals and a desire to serve them wherever He has us. Yet, I also long for others to see the world through God’s eyes. To truly understand the millions around the world who don’t know Jesus, who have not heard, who don’t have a Bible in their own language. This is whats important, this is the need, this is what matters to the Lord.

Mathew 28:18-20:  Then Jesus came to them and said, “All authority in heaven and on earth has been given to me.  Therefore go and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, and teaching them to obey everything I have commanded you. And surely I am with you always, to the very end of the age.”

I want to encourage you if you aren’t already, to pray for the lost all around the world,there are people who have never heard of Jesus. Pray for missionaries who are serving the Lord away from family and friends. Also pray for the persecuted throughout the world, who aren’t afraid to take a stand for what they believe. God indeed has a heart for missions, for He longs for all people to be saved and for all to bring praise unto Him.

Great links to help you know how to pray

http://www.persecution.com/

http://www.joshuaproject.net/

After serving in Korea, I doubt that I will ever be the same as before, but that’s okay. Because after catching a glimpse of the world through Jesus eyes, I truly don’t want to be the same.

Leave a Reply

