Wrestling with God……….

Has the Lord ever asked you to do something you really didn’t want to do, something quite honestly you didn’t understand? This has been where the Lord has had me for the past week. Just flat angry and struggling with the direction He is leading. Last night Lauren woke up with a runny nose and couldn’t sleep, as I was laying with her, it seems I continued my debate with God. My biggest question being why? Why must we leave Korea? Why are we to go back to the States when we have no job awaiting us. Why can’t we continue to serve here? These questions have plagued my mind constantly. Last night I kept pleading with the Lord for an answer. As I laid there, the Lord seemed to whisper, I desire to use you elsewhere. See Korea is great and there are numerous people who need the Lord, but there are also an abundance of laborers here. The Lord has already brought about people to fill our gaps. Yet, as I lay there, I was reminded of all the places where this is not the case, places people are hungry to hear God’s Word and long to be taught. At this time we aren’t sure what God has for us or where He’d have us serve, but the question, I felt Him asking me was, “will you allow me to use you elsewhere?”

Every stage of our journeys with the Lord are in essence to prepare us for what is next. Seminary prepared us for pastoring in Arkansas. Arkansas prepared us for pastoring in Tennessee. Our time in the wilderness as we waited on the Lord prepared us for Korea. And I know that God too has used Korea to prepare us for the next place. Is it easy? No! Yet, serving Him makes it worth it all. I have learned in Korea the great joy of teaching God’s Word, whether to adults, children or college students. I have learned that God has indeed called us to such a life and has given me a heart even more than before for missions. All of which will not be wasted but used of the Lord. Nothing is ever wasted in the Lords eyes.

So though I still struggle with leaving, the Lord has given me a great peace that all He has taught us here, will be used for what lies ahead. He has given me a peace knowing that He will show us the next step as we follow in obedience what He has told us to do. How thankful I am for the wonderful time and memories made here in Korea, never to be forgotten, yet look forward to what lies ahead, believing the Lord has good in store for us as we trust in Him.

 

Leave a Reply

