Learning to slow down…….

As I was walking home today from the bus stop, I slipped and fell into a wall almost bruising the fruit I had just bought and stumping my big toe.  A lady who had been walking slow stopped to check on me. As I smiled to let her know I was okay, I felt the Lord asking me a question it seems He has been asking me a lot lately…. “what is my hurry?” Since moving to Korea, where people are always on the go, I have found myself falling into the same hurried pace. Always in a rush to finish one thing so I can move onto the next. Yet, the Lord keeps asking me why? Why am I always in a hurry? It seems many days I find myself telling the kids hurry and get dressed so we can start school. Hurry and do your schoolwork so we can eat lunch. Hurry and finish lunch so we can finish school. Hurry and finish school so we can run errands. Hurry and finish so we can fix dinner. Hurry and finish dinner so we can take baths and get ready for bed.  Before I know what has happened the day is over and I have rushed through it and haven’t enjoyed a moment.

The Lord has been working on my heart asking me is it really worth it? All the rushing doesn’t change the fact that there are only 24 hrs in a day or 7 days in a week.  I do not believe the Lord ever intended for us to feel or be so rushed. He created a world full of beauty for us to enjoy and I believe He wants us to take the time to do just that. He tells  us in His Word  that laughter is good for the soul, yet if we are rushed and always in a hurry, we leave little time to smile and enjoy what God has given us.

Every time I find myself rushing through, the still small voice of the Lord whispers slow down, relax, breathe. Take a look around and enjoy what I created. I’m in control not you, let me take care of you, enjoy me. Smile, relax delight in all I have given you!!!

I’m always reminded at such times of Mary and Martha…. Martha was so busy she missed what was best to sit at Jesus feet, to enjoy Him because she had to have everything just right, she had to do more, more, more.While Mary chose what was best to enjoy the Lord. I believe if we are all honest we have more Martha tendencies than Mary and yet most of us want to be more like Mary. I believe this starts with spending time at the feet of Jesus, dwelling in His presence. Next, enjoying and delighting in the people He has placed in our lives and the things He has given us. Sure, the clothes still need washed and the errands run. The meals need prepared and the baths given. Yet as we learn to slow down and remember why and for whom we are doing these things, I believe there will be joy in these things as well.

Join me on my race to slow down… I’d love to hear your suggestions and ideas as well.

One thought on “Learning to slow down…….

  1. “The hurry makes us hurt. And maybe it is the hurt that drives us on? For all our frenzied running seemingly toward something, could it be that we are in fact fleeing – desperate to escape pain that pursues?” One Thousand Gifts, page 66

Leave a Reply

