The Law of Kindness

Have you ever had a bad day?  I mean a day when you are just grumpy and grouchy? Today, for me was one of those days. I told my husband I’d like to order a new set of nerves because mine were shot. He gladly agreed with me. It seemed like my flesh and spirit were indeed at war. And as most of you ladies will understand, for the life of me I hadn’t a clue why I felt this way. I spent much time praying for God’s grace and for his help. As I prayed, the Lord brought no other than the Proverbs 31 woman to mind. Now, my thoughts on this woman range from admiration to dislike. Mainly because I know I don’t measure up. Yet, the verse that kept playing through my mind was this. She opens her mouth with wisdom, And on her tongue is the law of kindness (Prov.31:26). Over and over this verse played through my head until I knew the Lord was seeking to teach me something.

Right away I became aware that I had not used wisdom in the opening of my mouth today, but had foolishly said what I felt and allowed grumbling and complaint to govern my speech instead. As a child  I learned that if you can’t say anything nice don’t say anything at all….yet that wise lesson was no where to be found today. Yet the most striking part of the verse to me was the second part….”and on her tongue is the law of kindness.” I searched out the deeper meaning and came upon Mathew Henry‘s explanation. He said it like this, “ The law of love and kindness is written in the heart, but it shows itself in the tongue. ” I realized real quick that my heart today was not filled with kindness nor Gods love, but instead was full of worry, frustration, and fear. Therefore the words of my mouth were snippy and unkind.

I’m sure the ultimate need in order for these verses to apply is prayer. time casting myself at the Lord’s feet, allowing Him to fill my cup, being filled with the Holy  Spirit and the Lord’s wisdom. Then comes obedience to His Word.

Speak words of kindness.
♦  A gentle answer turns away wrath, but a harsh word stirs up anger(Proverbs 15:1)
♦ Gracious words are a honeycomb,  sweet to the soul and healing to the bones.(Proverbs 16:24)

♦The one who has knowledge uses words with restraint, and whoever has understanding is even-tempered.(Proverbs 17:27)

♦ A word fitly spoken is like apples of gold. In settings of silver. (Proverbs 25:11)

♦May the words from my mouth and the thoughts from my heart be acceptable to you, O Lord, my rock and my defender. (Psalms 19:14)

I’m sure we all would like to be a little more like this great woman of God. Today, the Lord has shown me a little about this through the lesson He taught me…now to apply this to my life. Let me know your thoughts and how you apply this verse to your life.

Leave a Reply

