O be careful little eyes what you see……

Jehoiachin…. he did evil in the eyes of the Lord, just as his father had done.” 2 Kings 24:9

Every time I read through the Kings I notice  a pattern I’m sure you have seen as well, that almost always the children follow the example their fathers set before them. You read again and again statements like the above and at times statements that they did more evil than their fathers before them. Very few times do you find one who does not follow his father’s example.

I have thought about this a lot lately especially as the kids and I just finished a Bible study on being an example. I am ashamed to say some of the things I dislike the most in my kids are found in me as well.  Teaching with words is needed and God‘s Word holds the power and will change lives, yet our examples truly do speak louder than words. Speaking it is not enough unless it is also mirrored in our lives as well.

The Lord is teaching me that if I want my children to be thankful and not complain, then I must also follow suit. If I want my kids to trust God no matter what, then I must do the same. If I desire my kids to love the Lord with all their heart, soul, mind and strength this should also be reflected in my life.

Its pretty convicting I must admit, for as I said the things I’m constantly getting onto my kids about in their lives have been learned by watching me. I don’t know about you, but I truly desire to set a good, godly example before my kids in my speech, life, love, faith and purity (I Tim. 4:12) I also desire  to teach them humility, which means when I sin and fail them, I must go before them and ask their forgiveness as well as the Lords.

Being a parent is so much more than having and taking care of children. It is the day-to-day moment by moment daily life. Making the most of every opportunity to reflect Jesus to them.

One day I will be gone and my kids will be adults, it is my desire that they have learned what it means to serve the Lord by watching me. I am by no means perfect and have a lot of growing to do. Yet, working at this concept I believe is most important.

Join me on this journey and share your examples and lessons learned with me!!

Leave a Reply

