enjoying every moment

This morning as we were seeking to get everyone ready for church, Lauren was telling her dad about the funny balloon man we saw Saturday and the awesome flower he made for her. The problem being this beautiful balloon lasted only a few hours before pop went the balloon. After completing her story she turned to me and asked “When will it be yesterday again?” Now at first this question struck me as funny, and I told her it will never be yesterday again silly, it is over. Later as I thought about this, I was struck by the truth this simple question brought about.

Yesterday is gone, we can never get it back. As I thought about this and about how many yesterday’s I have wasted I was convicted. For me it is so easy to get focused on tomorrow and planning for the future, that if I’m not careful I miss out on living today. The Bible says, “This is the day the Lord has made, let us rejoice and be glad in it (Ps. 118:24).” It says nothing about yesterday or tomorrow, but the focus is on today.

God has given us all a certain number of days upon this earth, which in view of eternity is just a speck. It is His desire that we use each day for His glory and that we make the most of each day living it for Him. The older I get the more I realize how fast time passes by. As a child, weeks seemed like months, months like years. Now, as I watch my own children grow and change right before my eyes, I realize how fast time actually passes us by. I realize if I’m not careful I’m going to blink and they will be all grown up. It happens that fast.

I don’t know about you, but I want to enjoy every moment of every day, making the most of every opportunity to be an example of Christ to my family and friends, to tell others about Jesus, to encourage and disciple other believers. I also want to enjoy every moment having fun and being silly with my children, making memories that will last a lifetime.

Yesterday is gone, today is now! Let’s enjoy every moment the Lord has for us, let’s make the most of every situation, so that we don’t regret our yesterday’s but enjoy all the memories made.

One thought on “enjoying every moment

  1. mom

    mandy , as always , your words touch me right where they need to , you are amazing and I love you , I so love your Blogs , Mom

Leave a Reply

