By Grace…………

I recently finished reading a book entitled, “In the Presence of My Enemies.” This was the true story of a missionary couple who were held hostage by the Muslim extremist group, Abu Sayyaf. They were held for thirteen months in the Jungles of the Philippines. As I read this book, time and time again I would have to stop and take it all in. Trying to imagine what they must have gone through. At many times I thought I could never make it through something like that. Yet, Gracia Burnham I”m sure thought the same thing and were we to ask her how she made it through, I am almost positive her response would by, “by grace.”

Many times along my Christian journey, I have looked at people and their circumstances and wondered how they could make it through and continue to praise and serve the Lord, and time and time again I am reminded that it is by grace! In 2 Corinthians Paul says it like this. But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness. Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me. That is why, for Christ’s sake, I delight in weaknesses, in insults, in hardships, in persecutions, in difficulties. For when I am weak, then I am strong.” 2 Corinthians 12:9-12

The Lord’s grace is truly amazing. By it we are saved, by it we endure, by it we are being made to be more like Christ. God’s grace is enough for whatever comes our way. Yet, just as today only has so many hours, the day holds just enough grace. What I mean is God doesn’t give you the grace for next months problems today. You don’t need it now, you will need it then.  Which is why we are told again and again, “Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.”If I sit around and think about all the things that could go wrong, I am filled with worry and anxiety. Yet if I remember  that God’s grace is sufficient for whatever happens, then I am filled to overflowing with peace, knowing that God is sovereign and in control.

God doesn’t call everyone to be missionaries, pastors etc. However, He does call us all to follow after Him. Whatever the Lord calls us to, His grace is sufficient. Whatever He ask of us, He will provide the grace to see us through.

And he said to them all, If any man will come after me, let him deny himself, and take up his cross daily, and follow me. Luke 9:23

One Pure and Holy Passion

Give me one pure and holy passion
Give me one magnificent obsession
Give me one glorious ambition for my life
To know and follow hard after You


Leave a Reply

