Trusting God no matter what!

Trusting God is not the easiest thing in the world to do, yet it should be. I’ve thought a lot about this, this past week. Why do I trust my husband, my parents etc? I trust them because I know they love me, they want the best for me. Yet, how much more does God the Father love me and want His best for my life

I love reading the Psalms of David. This past week, I have been reading the Psalms written during a time in David’s life when his own son was out to take his kingdom and his life. In these Psalms you see David’s heart is full of hurt and betrayal, you see him pleading with the Lord to answer His prayers. Yet, at the end of each Psalm you see that despite it all, David has made a declaration that He will both trust and praise the Lord.

I find it so easy to trust in God in the good times and even to explain to others why and how they should trust in the Lord during their troubles. Yet, when I find myself in the midst of troubles and times of questioning, it is an entirely different story. Why is this? Do I not believe God has whats best in store for our family, do I question His goodness, His love?

I’m realizing that every time I am afraid, every time I am anxious it is sin because I am told “Fear not,” “Be anxious for nothing” again and again. It is impossible to both trust and be afraid. Impossible to both trust and worry. I’m either trusting Him or I’m not.

We are told in Prov. 3:4-5 “Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding, in all your ways acknowledge Him and He will direct your paths.” I can’t trust the Lord with part of my heart, I have to trust Him with it in entirety. I can’t figure it out on my own, I have to trust that He has it all under control. I must make it known that I will trust Him and allow Him to direct my life.

When we come to the place where we can do the above, we have come to the place like David that says, “God I trust you, no matter what happens, no matter how bad it gets or how good life is, I will trust in Thee! Because I believe that You love me, I believe You have good planned for my life, I believe You know best!!

Are you trusting Him today?

“But as for me, I trust in You.” Psalm 55:23

One thought on “Trusting God no matter what!

  1. Pingback: Trust « thoughtfulbeliever

Leave a Reply

