Finding my joy in God alone!

You make known to me the path of life; in your presence there is fullness of joy; at your right hand are pleasures forevermore. Psalm 16:11

I just finished reading a great book entitled, “Dancing with my Father” by Sally Clarkson. It was just what I needed during this season of life the Lord has us in. In this book she speaks about finding our joy in the Lord. Describing the fact that true joy can only be found in the Lord and in resting in His sovereignty and love.

When I was little I used to love dancing with my dad. I would stand on his feet and hold onto his hands and allow him to lead me across the dance floor. I knew that as long as I followed his lead and allowed him to be in control, I would be safe, I would not be hurt and could enjoy the dance to the fullest. The author describes a similar scene in her book and uses this to describe what our dance with our Heavenly Father is to be like.  Telling of the joy and peace that we can find when we allow the Lord to lead and trust Him to guide us through this journey of life. Yet the reverse is also true, for when we strive to lead and be in control, we fight and resist what the Lord has and eliminate peace of mind and heart and in essence our joy. “To grow in this joy. I have to move where He leads.”

 At this time, our future is unclear and it is so easy to allow circumstance and emotions to reign and steal away my joy. The stress and uncertainty are enough at times to lead me to the pit David often describes in the Psalms. Yet, when my eyes are focused on the Lord and I’m allowing the Lord to lead and guide me, resting in the fact that He is in control and that nothing takes Him by surprise, I find true joy!

However there are days when the lies of the enemy are so strong and it is just plain hard to fight back and in truth over time, easier to just give in than to fight back with God’s Word. However, to have true joy I must fight, I must resist the enemy, I must stand firm upon His Word. “Learning how to listen for God’s voice amid the noise of life and the lies of the Enemy is essential to remaining in his joy.” 

I’m also always reminded of the book of James in times of waiting, in times of  uncertainty. For James says,

Consider it all joy, my brethren, when you encounter various trials, knowing that the testing of your faith produces endurance. And let endurance have its perfect result, so that you may be perfect and complete, lacking in nothing. James 1:24

I must remember that this time of testing, this time of waiting is to be considered a joyful time. Not because it is fun, but because in it and through it the Lord is growing my faith, He is teaching me things He can later use me to teach others.

True joy can not be found in stuff, it can not be found in a job or even in another person. True joy and lasting peace can only be found by dwelling in His presence. Resting in His sovereignty. Trusting  Him no matter what.

We wait in hope for the Lordhe is our help and our shield. In him our hearts rejoice, for we trust in his holy name.” Psalm 33:20-21


Leave a Reply

