Pretense!

I don’t know about you, but many times during my Christian walk, I have found myself just going through the motions. I get up in the morning, have my quiet time, check! Pray, check! Talk with kids about Bible story we read in school, check! Work on Bible memory verses, check! Yet, in spite of all these good things, without a real connection to the King of Kings, it’s just that, going through the motions.

I’m learning that just as good works don’t save us, good works don’t make my walk with the Lord grow. Yet, how easy it is to slip into pretense.  Most of us have enough Bible knowledge to be dangerous. We know all the right answers, we know how we are supposed to act and what to avoid. Yet, apart from intimacy with the Lord, none of this matters!

Have you ever noticed that on Sundays at church, most everyone has a smile on their face. Yet, if we could only see into their hearts most of these same people are carrying burdens, are struggling with sin and have fallen into the trap of pretense. People fear going forward during the invitation because they don’t want anyone to know what is really going on below the surface. How tragic this is. For church should be the one place we can be 100% real. It should be the place where we can lay our burdens down. Yet, it should also be a place where the Lord deals with our hearts, we are broken over sin and we come falling on our faces before God.

I’m quick to say I hate pretense, yet to be honest I fall into these same traps. The enemy longs to convince us that this is how it should be. That we have to somehow be perfect. Yet, the Bible teaches us an entirely different scenario. The Bible tells us we will have trouble, we will go through problems and that apart from Him we can do nothing!

How crazy we are to think we can pretend with God, He will not be fooled and is not pleased when we just go through the motions of worship, of Bible study or of attending church. We serve a jealous God, a God who desires our entire heart, our entire lives.

We may fool others, but never the Lord.  The Bible says, “Love the Lord your God with all your heart, with all your mind, with all your soul and with all your strength. Luke 10:27 If you notice, He wants ALL of your heart, He wants ALL of your mind, ALL of your soul, and ALL strength to be focused upon Him.  He will not accept second place in your life. He wants to be first!

If your like me, you have definite room to grow. As I think upon how often I pretend, I am ashamed. It is my desire to truly love the Lord, to truly serve and worship Him and not to go through the motions. How about you???

Leave a Reply

