Prone to Wander Lord I feel it…..

Have you ever just had one of those days. A day when you started out ready to serve the Lord, ready to do His work. Yet, as the day progressed, as the problems arose, your heart drifted away and before you knew it, you had fallen flat on your face? If we are honest, we all have these days. Days when our hearts wander away from the Lord and sin takes the reign. Such days can be quite discouraging and if we aren’t careful the enemy rubs our noses in it and tells us to just give up trying.

As I was reading in my quiet time I came upon a verse in Deuteronomy that struck me. The Lord is getting ready to bring His people into the promised land. He has given them instructions to follow telling them that if they follow Him, He will pour out His blessings upon them. However, if they turn aside, He will rain down curses upon them until they repent and return. In Deut. 31:21, He says this, “I know what they are disposed to do.” As I read this I was reminded that God knew before He ever led them into the Promised Land that they would turn to other gods, that they would reject Him. Yet, in His infinite mercy He allows them to enter in. The same was true of Jesus the night of His arrest. That night two of His very own would betray and deny Him. This did not take Him by surprise and yet He still called them and loved them.

As I thought upon this, I was reminded how this too applies to me. The Lord knew before He saved me that I would betray Him, deny Him,and turn from Him. Yet, He saved me, called me, choses to use me and loves me. Each day the Lord knows how I will fail Him, He knows how many times I will sin. Yet, in His infinite mercy He loves me anyway. The Lord knows that my heart is prone to wander, He knows how fickle I can be. He knows how my emotions can determine my entire day and yet He loves me!!

This of course by no means gives me liberty to just go out and sin and live my own way. Yet, what encouragement is to be found in this. For despite all our short comings. Despite what the enemy wants us to believe. God still loves us when we fail, in fact, He’s there waiting to pick us up.

What a gracious, marvelous God He is! How I praise Him for His unending grace, His relentless mercy and His enormous love for a sinner such as me!

Come Thou Fount of Every Blessing

O to grace how great a debtor
Daily I’m constrained to be!
Let Thy goodness, like a fetter,
Bind my wandering heart to Thee.
Prone to wander, Lord, I feel it,
Prone to leave the God I love;
Here’s my heart, O take and seal it,
Seal it for Thy courts above.

Leave a Reply

