Remember!!!

If you are anything like me, you are forgetful. If I don’t make a list of what I need to do, most likely it won’t get done. If I don’t write out a grocery list, I will come home having forgotten to get what I needed. As I get older, I find that this has become a real trial, forgetfulness! This plagues us all I’m sure, but I’m learning that this forgetfulness affects me spiritually as well.

Over and over again in God’s Word, we find the Lord telling His children to “remember”. He instructs them to build alters, to observe feast and to teach their children less they forget all the things the Lord has done. More and more I’m finding out how true and how great a need it is to do these things. Why? Because humanly speaking we are all forgetful!

When we are going through a trial, how easy it is to forget the Lord’s faithfulness, how easy to forget how He delivered us the last time, how quick we are to forget that the Lord is the same yesterday, today and forever. He is the same Lord who carried us through a few years ago. He is the same Lord who brought us through the flames and delivered us. He has not changed, He is still on His throne and nothing is too much for Him to handle.

To be honest, I have had a few discouraging days. How tempting it is to just give into despair. To hold a pity party and despair over all the problems. Then I was reading in my quiet time and I came across Psalm 77. It was just what I needed and the Lord ministered unto my heart through the living Word.

11 I will remember the deeds of the LORD;
yes, I will remember your miracles of long ago.
12 I will consider all your works
and meditate on all your mighty deeds.”

13 Your ways, God, are holy.  What god is as great as our God?

The writer of the Psalm, Asaph, seems to be in despair as you read the beginning, then you come across verse 11 and it’s as if he says, you know what, things are bad, but instead of giving into despair, I will remember the Lord. I will think upon all He has done and praise Him.  As I read this, God spoke to my heart and said, remember!!! Remember how I have taken care of you all these years, remember how I have always provided for you! Remember how I have opened doors only I could open and taken care of all of your problems. Remember!! Then He said (not audibly) I’m still Lord! I haven’t changed, just as I took care of everything the last 100 times you had trials, I will take care of you now! Just as I met your needs in the past, I will meet them again!

Wow, awesome! Just what my discouraged heart needed to hear! I challenge you to search out God’s Word, only here will you find the strength to carry on. Only here can God speak to your heart as He did unto mine. I also challenge you to remember all God has done. Even when times are good, remember and praise Him. When times are hard, remember and find your strength in Him!

“What god is as great as our God!!!!” Ps. 77:13

Leave a Reply

