Prayer with Thanksgiving

Have you ever been woke up during the night and no matter how hard you tried, you could not go back to sleep. Your mind was running on overdrive as you thought about the future or just went through your list of all you needed to do the next day. Saturday this happened to me. I had been sleeping good until Lauren woke up, after getting her settled back to bed, I laid back down thinking I’d go right back to sleep. Yet, the opposite happened. Instead of going back to sleep, I was wide awake and my mind went to work. I began trying to figure out what the Lord has for our family, I began contemplating the how, where and when. As I sat thinking of all the things needed to happen, my heart was overwhelmed.

One of my favorite verses in Psalms says, “When I am overwhelmed lead me to the rock that is higher than I (Ps. 61:2).” This verse began flooding through my mind. Which then led me to prayer. I know being anxious is sin, I know worry doesn’t please the Lord, so I began by confessing this sin. Then, I began to pray with thanksgiving. Thanking God that although I don’t know what He has for us, He does. I began thanking Him that He know exactly how everything will work out and thanked Him that He has it all under control. Every aspect that was overwhelming to my heart, I began to cast at His feet in thanksgiving. As I did this, the peace of God that transcends all understanding (Phil. 4:7) flooded my soul and before long I was fast asleep.

This week, the kids and I are working on memorizing Phil. 4:6-7 which states, “Do not be anxious about ANYTHING, but in EVERYTHING by prayer and petition with THANKSGIVING present your request to God and the peace of God which transcends all understanding will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.” I believe many of us have no problem presenting our request to God, we know how to cry out to Him with our cares. Yet, I believe a huge aspect of this is to do it with thanksgiving. Why does this matter you might be asking? This matters because when we began to pray and thank God in advance for how He can and will work things out, how He can and will take care of everything, we are praying in faith. Hebrews 11:6 says, “Without faith it is impossible to please God.” In the same manner praying in faith is huge.

In James 1, James is instructing the people that if they lack wisdom to pray and ask for wisdom. Yet, he goes on to explain how they should ask. He says, “But when you ask, you must believe and not doubt, because the one who doubts is like a wave of the sea, blown and tossed by the wind. That person should not expect to receive anything from the Lord. Such a person is double-minded and unstable in all they do.”

When we pray, we must pray in faith believing that God is able. That nothing is impossible for Him. When we do this, He can replace all the anxiety, all the worries with a peace unexplainable. Yet, if we doubt, if we pray in anxiety and don’t really believe He can handle it, we will walk away carrying the same burdens we had when we entered into prayer.

So this week as you pray and spend time in the throne room of grace, I encourage you to pray with thanksgiving and allow the supernatural peace of God to cover you! Remember no matter what, nothing is too much for the Lord!

Leave a Reply

