Who fills your cup?

Who fills my cup, who satisfies me? These question are important for all of us as Christians to answer. embarrassingly so, many times I want my cup filled by others, I seek the approval of others or believe the lie that things or circumstances will satisfy me. Years ago while I was in Seminary, I just wanted to get married. In my own thinking I was convinced this would be what would satisfy me, then I wanted to have a baby, next I wanted to have a home of our own. Finally when I had the husband, the children and the pretty house, I thought yes, surely now I will be satisfied. Yet, it still would at times seem something was missing. As a child I had always dreamed of living in a far away land, telling others of Jesus. However, here I sit half way around the world and it hit me the other day I’m still not satisfied. That something was still missing. As I thought and prayed over this, I realized how wrong I have been to seek my satisfaction in things, people and places. The truth is I could have a house in Florida and one in Colorado and have all the stuff money could buy and still have an empty cup.

Why? Because the only One who can satisfy, the only One who can fill my cup to overflowing is Jesus. The truth is things break and people will let me down. Once a goal is achieved there is another to fulfill. It is an endless cycle I believe so many are caught up in. This summer when our family was in the Philippines I saw people who had nothing and many who didn’t know where there next meal would come from. Yet many of these same people had a joy unexplainable. A joy found only in the Lord. I left thinking wow, but many of these people had nothing but the Lord.

How easy it is to get caught up in this world, in things, and jobs. How easy to become focused upon what tomorrow holds. How difficult to live each day enjoying the Lord right then and now. In Psalm 27:4 we find one who understood this truth. David says,  “One thing I ask from the LORD, this only do I seek: that I may dwell in the house of the LORD all the days of my life, to gaze on the beauty of the LORD and to seek Him in His temple.”  Do we really seek Him like this, if we could only ask one thing of the Lord, would it be to dwell in His presence?

John Piper said, “God is most glorified in us when we are most satisfied in Him.” It brings the Lord glory for us to be satisfied in Him. It pleases Him most when we are content with where He has us and in what He has given us. Yet, the opposite is true as well. When we seek satisfaction from others/things we do not glorify Him. When we are not content in what He has given us or where He has us, He is not pleased.

The most joyful person is the one like Paul who has learned to be content no matter what. The one who has sought the Lord and found Him. The one who rest in His presence and trust in His Name. Jesus is the only One who can satisfy, the only One who can fill your cup. Let us find our satisfaction in HIM and in living for HIM.

Leave a Reply

