Learning to “Be Still”

If you have been around our little girl Lauren for any length of time, then you know that she is never still. She is a big ball of energy who hops, jumps, flips and moves every moment of the day. The concept “be still” is not really a part of her vocabulary. Yet, she has and continues to learn that there are times and places this is a must.  I’ve come to realize she must get this from me. Though I don’t have to be moving about all day and can certainly sit still, when it comes to my walk with the Lord, being still, is a definite challenge.

All throughout the Scriptures, we come across verse after verse that instructs us to “wait on the Lord and trust in the Lord.” Psalm 46:10 says it this way, “Be still and know that I am God; I will be exalted among the nations, I will be exalted in the earth.” At numerous points in my walk with the Lord, He has sought to teach me what this means. Even now, He is teaching me this concept. You see when everything is going good it is pretty easy to be still and know He is God. Yet, when challenges arise, when decisions need to be made, when you just grow impatient in the wait, it becomes quite difficult to be still. Like Lauren, we want to get busy. We want to fix the problem, open the doors only God can, and hurry the Lord along.

I’m often reminded of the story of Sarai and Hagar at these times.  Sarai and Abraham had been promised by God they would have a son. Yet, years pass and Sarai still is unable to conceive a child. Finally tired of waiting she comes up with a plan. So she sends for Abram and tells him to take her servant Hagar and produce an heir through her. However, when her plan worked and Hagar conceived, she became insanely jealous and blamed Abram and Hagar for all her troubles (Genesis 15-16). Instead of waiting on God and trusting in Him, Sarai took matters into her own hands and came up with her own solution bringing about much pain and misery.

At this time our family it seems is at a crossroad, waiting on the Lord to show us what is next, what He wants us to do, where He wants us to go. I can’t begin to tell you how hard it is for me to just “be still and know He is God.” I want to do something, anything to help. Yet, how crazy is that? Does God need my help? absolutely not! You see being still is only part of the equation, the other part is  “and know He is God.” He is God, He created the world in 6 days, He spoke the stars into existance. Does He know we stand at this crossroad? Has any of this taken Him by surprise? The answer is no! Just as God came to Hagar after Sarai had cast her out, God comes to us in the midst of these moments. So like Hagar we are reminded that He is the God who sees (Gen. 16:13). The Lord sees and knows where we are, He sees and knows what we need.

In Isaiah 55:8-9 the Lord says, “For my thoughts are not your thoughts, Nor are your ways My ways, says the Lord. For as the heavens are higher than the earth, So are my ways higher than your ways, and My thoughts than your thoughts.”  So, I could try to come up with a solution, I could seek to hurry God along, but I don’t want what I think is best, I don’t want what I think I need. I want His best, what He has for us. Yet, this means I must “be still and know He is God.” I must wait on Him and trust in Him. As I have said, this is no simple task, yet what peace floods my soul when the Lord enables me to be still, knowing He is God and He reminds me that He has it all under control!

Therefore, like Lauren, we all must learn to truly, “Be still.”

One thought on “Learning to “Be Still”

  1. Marcia Heim

    I’ve been working on learning this concept for 54 years!! I still need work!! Being still is not easy for me; but I know it is what God wants and even expects me to do. To wait on Him and hear HIS still small voice. These are my life verses for sure. He is God and I wait on Him. Praying you’ll be able to do the same as you seek His Will for each step of your lives. Love and prayers from the Detroit area. Love reading your blog, Mandy. Marcia Heim, Grandmother Extroidenaire of Sam, Sophia, Jasper and Solomon (Abrielle, Christopher and Evangeline too). Now those are worth waiting for!!!

Leave a Reply

