Seeking HIM

There is a great song we sing at church that has been around a long time, entitled “All in All.” The past few Sundays, we have been singing this at KFC so it has been stuck in my head all week. One of the lines that truly struck me this past week says, “Seeking you as a precious jewel, Lord to give up I’d be a fool, You are my all in all.” As I was singing this the other day and came upon this line, I thought to myself,do I really seek Him as a precious jewel? I read a book awhile ago about how they mine for rubies deep in the caves. It is dangerous work to dig for these jewels, there is the risk of the mine caving in, the risk of suffocation the further into the mine one goes and it is strenuous work to dig day after day and only find a few jewels. Yet, each day there are people who faithfully go and work in the mines seeking to find one of these precious stones.

The Lord says in Jeremiah 29:13, “You will seek me and you will find me when you seek me with all your heart.” He doesn’t say, you might find Me, He says you will find Me! Unlike digging for precious jewels where on a good day you might find one, He has promised that if we seek Him, we will find Him. However, to find Him we must seek Him with all of our heart. So what does this mean? John Piper describes seeking God this way,”It is the conscience fixing or focusing of our mind’s attention and our heart’s affection on God.”

Just as the miner has to go to the cave and he has to dig deep through the dirt and clay, we have to go to God’s Word and dig for the precious truths hidden throughout. The miner also has to get his hands dirty, just as he is on his knees searching to find these jewels, we too have to be serious about seeking the Lord. This means we deal with the ugly sin in our lives that separates us from Him, it means we spend time in prayer both speaking and being still in His presence.  It means we strive to obey His Word. Seeking the Lord means “we take captive every thought to make it obedient to Christ (2 Corinthians 10:5).” Seeking Him takes time and effort, it takes diligence and persistence.

When a miner comes across a precious jewel he is thrilled, he’s been working hard, digging deep and has finally found this hidden treasure. What excitement and joy he must feel. In the same way, when we seek the Lord with all our hearts, we will find Him and He will show us deep, wonderful truths we have never seen before. We will have an intimacy with the Lord we thought unattainable. Yes, seeking the Lord takes time and effort, but I believe with all my heart, it is well worth the effort!!

“Seeking you as a precious jewel, Lord to give up I’d be a fool, You are my all in all!” 

Leave a Reply

