A mouth of praise or a mouth of complaints

I don’t know about you, but I know for me it is much easier to complain than it is to be thankful. I”m one of those who doesn’t see the glass half full, but half empty. This past week, the Lord has really been dealing with my heart on how I use my mouth. Do I use it to praise Him or to complain. Sadly to say, I know lately I have used my mouth to gripe about everything I don’t like instead of seeing the good and giving thanks! In James, he tells says, “With the tongue we praise our Lord and Father, and with it we curse men who have been made in God’s likeness. Out of the same mouth come praise and cursing. My brothers, this should not be.” Paul also tells us in Philippians 2:14 to , “Do everything without complaining or arguing.”
Now here is the thing, I know what the Bible says, but knowing it and applying it are two different things. I know I’m to “Give thanks in all circumstances.” I Thes. 5:16 Yet, when I wake up late, my child spills milk all over the floor and the dog chews up the new couch all before noon, it is hard to find things to be thankful for and so much easier to complain and rage at everything that has gone wrong.  Yet we are told in everything to give thanks. The Lord is teaching me that when I’m quick to praise instead of complain I am seeing things through His eyes. The other day it was colder than cold and as I walked to the store I complained the whole way about how cold it was. Yet, later I was convicted about my negative attitude. For you see, yes, it was cold but at least it wasn’t raining. Instead of complaining about the cold, I should have been praising the Lord that it wasn’t raining and for the clear skies. It is all a matter of perspective. Will I see things through my own worldly vision or through the eyes of my Father.

In Psalms 141:3, David says, “Set a guard over my mouth, Lord, keep watch over the doors of my lips.” Wow, what a prayer I need to put into practice, that the Lord would guard my mouth from complaining and watch over my lips that they would not be used to tear others down but only to build up and encourage.

I’m finding that when I praise Him, I have peace. When I praise Him,  I have joy, When I praise Him, my faith grows. I challenge you and myself this next week, to pray David’s prayer that the Lord would guard our mouths and keep watch over our lips, that we may use our mouths not to complain but to praise. For He is indeed worthy of our praise no matter what!!

One thought on “A mouth of praise or a mouth of complaints

Leave a Reply

