Kids For Christ

When I began seminary years ago, I began with the intention of getting my Masters in Missiology .  Basically to train to be a missionary.  At this time, the degree required two years of classes followed by two years experience on the field. It was also during my final days of classes that I met Eric and we began to date. As the Lord led us to the decision to marry, we realized we did not feel led to go to Suriname where the missiology students were to go. We had our hearts set on China not the Amazon Rain Forrest. Therefore, I met with professors and we discussed the best thing for me to do. For if I did not go with the team, I would not receive a degree.  I was advised to change my major and get my Master’s in Christian Education. At the time it was very frustrating for I did not understand why I now had to take an entire semester more of education classes in order to graduate. Yet, I took the classes and received my degree. Over the years, the Lord certainly put into use my degree as I served as children’s director at the churches we pastored, but this past spring the Lord opened my eyes to the reality of why I had to take the missions and education classes. For about two months ago I was asked to be the director of the children’s ministry at the church we are attending. It was as if the Lord was saying, see “all things do work together for good (Romans 8:28).” I was blown away as I came to realize he had called us to the mission field that I might be director of Kids for Christ. Now each week, I have the opportunity to teach these children from all over the world about Jesus.

Leave a Reply

